Author, Lamb and Lord: Thoughts of Thanksgiving

I sit here thinking on my life,

Recalling times of joy and strife,

And thanking God for what His will has done.

.

If my life were words and lines,

Then there are lines I’d never write,

For fear that subplot might consume my soul.

.

Would you write ‘death’ or ‘pain’ or ‘cancer,’

Scribble in a lack of answers,

Or author up some hardships for your life?

.

Would you compose a dash of trials,

Just a pinch of heartache,

If you knew things would unfold just as you write them?

.

None of us would want this pain.

And yet, by grace I’ve come to learn

Its value in the plot.

.

God is Author of all things.

His pen has written what will be,

Long before things were.

.

Each difficulty has its place.

It gives a thirst for peace and grace

Found only through His Son.

.

You see,

Sometimes I fail to cling to Him

When life is bless’d and sweet.

Seldom has an average day

Forced me to His feet.

.

And if it’s true that at His feet

Are stores of grace so bright,

A centeredness and selflessness,

A most abundant life,

.

Then all the writings in this plot,

Each twisting of the pen,

Each counterpoint, each conflict,

Every trial, every pain,

.

Each one driving me to kneel,

Before my Lord of Life,

Can these be but mercy,

Love, and grace come in disguise?

.

And so, my heart is thankful

For the things I have and don’t.

I am more than full and filled up

By my Author, Lamb, and Lord.

About Kevin Burrill

A Christian, a pastor, a widower, a husband, a father, a thinker, a worshipper, and a teacher - simply seeking to know my God more and more along the journey, and hoping that what I'm learning will impact others as I'm finding out His greatness. View all posts by Kevin Burrill

Leave a Reply

